Archived News Year

Archived News 2007

In Remembrance of Betty Thorsteinson

In Remembrance of Betty Thorsteinson

Sadly, Betty Thorsteinson passed away on Saturday October 13, 2007. Those who knew Betty knew of her love for, and involvement in, country music particularly within Manitoba. Betty was Postmaster for the community of Westbourne for the past twenty five years, and ran a successful retail business which she owned and operated for twenty years. Betty also served on many committees throughout the years, including the MCMA Board of Directors.
"Wishes from the Stars" Countrified Benefit
This event has been cancelled...
Ray Martin Resigns

After several years serving the MCMA as a member and on the board as President, Ray Martin has resigned as an active member of the MCMA Board of Directors.

Ray has done a terrific job over the past years with the MCMA and is moving on with MARIA and the CCMA Committee, for the up and coming 2008 Awards in Winnipeg.

Please join us in wishing Ray continued success in his on going endeavors, he will be missed.
Angela Nespiak resigns as Vice President
After a year serving the MCMA as Vice President, Angela Nespiak is stepping down. Angela has been a valued member of the Board of Directors and will be missed.

Please join us in wishing Angela continued success in her on going endeavors.
2007 MCMA Board of Directors
It is my great pleasure to announce the election of Dennis Simcock as President and Angela Nespiak as Vice President of the MCMA.

Both Dennis and Angela have been very active in the music industry and share a love of Country music. I know they will make great Ambassadors in our continued effort to support the incredible talent we have in our Province.

Also newly elected as Directors were Chris Ising and Brent Degryse.

Our Secretary-Treasurer Noel Martin, myself and Harvey Levy will be staying on for another term as well.

As in the past, we hope to continue with our contests and related events, and we sincerely hope that you will continue to support us. Please join me in welcoming our new Board members and our returning Directors:

Cindy Cain, Diana Desjardins, Desiree Doiron, Bruce Lepere, and Kristen Lucyshyn.

I'm sure you'll be hearing from them soon.


Ray Martin; Past President.
2007 Singer Search Winners
The Manitoba Country Music Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2007 "Singer Search Contest"
2007 Singer Search Contest
Manitoba Country Music Association
Proudly Presents the 2007 "Singer Search Contest"

Manitoba Country Music Association